VeganMoFo Iron Chef Challenge #3

This weekend’s secret ingredient – coconut.

I think coconut is my favourite ingredient. If I see a recipe that includes it, or a (vegan) product that includes it, I can’t say no.

Today, I made coconut brittle (or, German Chocolate Cake Brittle). It was terrible. I’m pretty sure I know exactly what went wrong, and I will be re-making it. Unfortunately, I used up the last of my coconut shreds when making it, so, it’s going to have to wait until I make it to the grocery store (an hour away) to buy more.

So, I’m going to try the coconut challenge one more time today with a coconut cream pie (with meringue topping — Many, many thanks to Hannah Kaminsky for showing that meringue can actually be done vegan!)

I promise to update this by the end of the day with gorgeous (well, you know, standard) pictures, a delicious recipe, and lots of love for coconut.

 

8:02pm – Update

I made it tiny, because I’m a sucker for tiny food.

I used my favourite pie crust for this recipe.

Then, make tiny pie crusts in a large muffin pan (large muffins, not large pan ^_^). Bake at 415 for about 20 minutes. Set aside.

I also changed up my go-to pudding recipe.

You’ll need:
1/3 Cup Sugar

3T cornstarch

a shake of salt

1 can light coconut milk

a splash of vanilla

about 1/2C shredded coconut (mine was sweetened, but, generally, I avoid sweetened dried fruit)

 

Combine sugar, cornstarch, and salt in a smallish pot. Slowly whisk in coconut milk (add it too fast and you’ll have lumpy pudding – sick). Add vanilla. Heat on low until thickened. Stir in coconut.

Pour into your tiny pie crusts. Top with whipped topping (I had some Rich’s, but you can use Soyatoo if you can get it).  I didn’t top it with meringue because I got lazy. I may top the remaining 11 with it tomorrow. I promise to let you know!

About Kelly

Vegan blogger, foodie, yarn junkie, novice gardener, shoe hater.

Posted on October 23, 2011, in Iron Chef Weekend, Pie, VeganMoFo 2011 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

Yes, I Really Did Just Say That.

A Place To Say What Everyone Else Is Thinking

x means no onions

Healthy and not-so-healthy vegan family food in the Central Valley

The Kitchen Billets-Doux

short sweet notes from my kitchen to yours.

Honk If You're Vegan

My Plant-Based Journey

Kohlrabi and Quince

Book-loving, cake decorating, feminist vegan nerd living in the most beautiful place on earth

Al Ma'arrist

'There is no thing as a single-issue struggle because we do not live single-issue lives.' — Audre Lorde

In Vegetables We Trust

Home to over 200 vegan recipes.

Crooked Bread

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Heavenly Vegan Baking

For the best easy to make vegan recipes

The Empowered Pantry

Rediscovering the world of REAL Food

Vegan Monologue

Just food! No nonsense. Portland, OR.

Hot vegan chick.....peas!

Just another vegan blog :)

insufferablevegan

Welcome! Did you eat a tortured animal today? :)

Talin Orfali Ghazarian

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

The Unorthodox Epicure

Confessions of an Aspiring Food Snob