Vegan MoFo Day 2; Fermented Hot Sauce AKA The Best Hot Sauce You’ll Ever Eat

Fermented hot sauce is my new favourite thing to make. It is so, so, so good. And it gives me something to do with my excess peppers. And my pepper plants are out of control. I have never seen such tall pepper plants, so full of fruit.

Last night’s hot sauce mixture consisted of garlic, habenero, Serrano, and jalapeno chilies. It’s super easy, and, the recipe isn’t actually mine. It comes from Well Preserved, one of my favourite online resources for preserving (though not everything they post is vegan). The recipe can easily be customised, as it’s more suggestions for great hot sauce, and can be played with according to your tastes. This is their most recent post on fermenting hot sauce, however they have three or four I recommend checking out. Because I ferment in a mason jar, I use this post.

Peppers fermenting for hot sauce

After about a week, the peppers are ready to be pureed. You have the option of then straining your puree or leaving it as is. I like it chunky, so I don’t strain it.

About Kelly

Vegan blogger, foodie, yarn junkie, novice gardener, shoe hater.

Posted on October 2, 2012, in Vegan MoFo, Vegan MoFo 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. this looks brilliant. I’m begging all my friends with green thumbs and excess hot peppers to donate them to my cause of making this. I just may share if I’m feeling generous….

    Like

    • It’s honestly pretty difficult to be generous with this hot sauce. I’ve never eaten any condiment so quickly as I did the first batch. I eat it on everything from toast to mac and cheeze.

      Like

  2. This looks amazing! I am currently fermenting a bunch of things, but none of them are hot sauce. I think I know what is coming next! I am fermenting cucumbers, green beans, peppers, and sauerkraut!

    Like

  3. Ohhhh wow. Thank you!

    Like

  4. Kelly,

    Thanks so much for sharing – I’m glad you liked it and even more happy that you made it! Although we’re not vegetarian, we do eat veggie and vegan a lot – look forward to exploring here for some ideas. 🙂

    Joel

    Like

    • Joel, I’ve made it three times this summer, and people are raving. I love how differently it comes out each time I make it.

      I’ve been following Well Preserved for a year or so now, and am so glad I do! I love all of the awesome preserving ideas.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Round-Up: Yes We Can! | VeganMoFo

Tell me what you think!

Yes, I Really Did Just Say That.

A Place To Say What Everyone Else Is Thinking

x means no onions

Healthy and not-so-healthy vegan family food in the Central Valley

The Kitchen Billets-Doux

short sweet notes from my kitchen to yours.

Honk If You're Vegan

My Plant-Based Journey

Kohlrabi and Quince

Book-loving, cake decorating, feminist vegan nerd living in the most beautiful place on earth

Al Ma'arrist

'There is no thing as a single-issue struggle because we do not live single-issue lives.' — Audre Lorde

In Vegetables We Trust

Home to over 200 vegan recipes.

Crooked Bread

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Heavenly Vegan Baking

For the best easy to make vegan recipes

The Empowered Pantry

Rediscovering the world of REAL Food

Vegan Monologue

Just food! No nonsense. Portland, OR.

Hot vegan chick.....peas!

Just another vegan blog :)

insufferablevegan

Welcome! Did you eat a tortured animal today? :)

Talin Orfali Ghazarian

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

The Unorthodox Epicure

Confessions of an Aspiring Food Snob