I’ve started my garden!

Wooooo! I’m doing a happy spring dance as I type.

Really.

I mostly started my plants from seed. Most of the seeds I got from Cubits on Etsy. She’s great. I’ve ordered seeds from her for two years now. Check her out if you’re even remotely interested in starting plants from seed.

 

So far, I’ve planted:

Patti Pan Squash

Black Beauty Zucchini

Amish Paste Tomatoes

Cherokee Purple Tomatoes

Italian Noir Tomatoes

Bush Delicata Squash

Chioggia Beets

Early Tall Top Beets

Mini Red Bell Peppers

Random Colored Bell Peppers (yellow, white, purple, red, and orange)

 

From Prior Years, I have:

Mystery Lettuce (It didn’t germinate last year, but it came up full-force this spring)

Strawberries (My dad keeps threatening to pull his mess of strawberries out, so I stole some for myself – they produce *amazing* berries)

Oregano (it’s out of control, personally, I think we should just pull it)

Parsley

Rosemary

 

Next to plant:

Little Finger Eggplant

Rosa Bianca Eggplant

 

I’m not growing any really big squash or melons this year, as we had a pretty dry winter, and I’m not honestly sure if we’ll have enough water for what I’ve planted.

 

The real fun began after I bought little 2″ terracotta pots and made some adorable plant markers:

These were super easy. I just used tiny terracotta pots (super cheap at craft stores), used tiny alphabet stamps to stamp the type of plant onto it (I used Patio Paint), and Modge-Podged ladybugs and butterflies onto a couple of pots. Recycle your old wire coat-hangers – straighten them out, cut them in half, then curl them into shepherd’s hooks, and hang the pots off them.

 

Do you garden? What do you use to label your plants?

About Kelly

Vegan blogger, foodie, yarn junkie, novice gardener, shoe hater.

Posted on May 9, 2012, in Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Congrats on the garden! Sounds like you have many delicious days ahead. I would love to have a garden of my own, and someday when we have a yard I’m sure we will–although I always tell my husband that he’ll have to tend to it because any plant in my care mysteriously dies within a week 🙂 Cute plant markers, too. I’ll have to keep those in the back of my mind for future use…

    Like

    • Thank you, Bobbie!
      I have a huge yard, but my soil is *terrible*, so I plant everything in containers. So far, it has worked well for everything from watermelon to radishes.
      And, in my experience, outdoor plants are a lot easier to take care of than indoor.
      Good luck!

      Like

Tell me what you think!

Yes, I Really Did Just Say That.

A Place To Say What Everyone Else Is Thinking

x means no onions

Healthy and not-so-healthy vegan family food in the Central Valley

The Kitchen Billets-Doux

short sweet notes from my kitchen to yours.

Honk If You're Vegan

My Plant-Based Journey

Kohlrabi and Quince

Book-loving, cake decorating, feminist vegan nerd living in the most beautiful place on earth

Al Ma'arrist

'There is no thing as a single-issue struggle because we do not live single-issue lives.' — Audre Lorde

In Vegetables We Trust

Home to over 200 vegan recipes.

Crooked Bread

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Heavenly Vegan Baking

For the best easy to make vegan recipes

The Empowered Pantry

Rediscovering the world of REAL Food

Vegan Monologue

Just food! No nonsense. Portland, OR.

Hot vegan chick.....peas!

Just another vegan blog :)

insufferablevegan

Welcome! Did you eat a tortured animal today? :)

Talin Orfali Ghazarian

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

The Unorthodox Epicure

Confessions of an Aspiring Food Snob