New site, Bananas, Pasta, and Another cake

You may have noticed – I moved. Blogger has been making me crazy, and, I’m loving WordPress. Let me know what you think of the new blog! So far, I think I like the simplicity.

We’re ten weeks from the Last Frost, and I am itching to see some spring. Well, January certainly felt like spring, but I couldn’t plant anything. I’ve been ordering seeds like crazy. Today, an envelope from Cubits arrived in my post office box. It included butternut squash, moon and stars watermelon, moonglow tomatoes, and a surprise package of red salad bowl lettuce.

seeds

I had the privilege of making a birthday cake for an old friend’s daughter’s birthday. It was a simple yellow cake with chocolate frosting. What could go wrong?

171553_791963860978_6701647_42557946_7550812_o176578_791963821058_6701647_42557945_22945_o

with mini cupcakes to match:

175656_791953741258_6701647_42557661_6147858_o

Isn’t it cute? I’m loving the polka-dots.

Its been a while, and I have a recipe for you. Well, I sort of have two recipes for you, but to call the second one a “recipe” isn’t completely accurate.

172823_795501641238_6701647_42627357_7529717_o

Lemony Whole Wheat Pasta with Spinach and Chickpeas

1can chickpeas, rinsed and drained

1 package frozen spinach, thawed

juice 1 whole lemon

Whole Wheat Penne Pasta – amount is up to you, depending on the pasta to spinach/chickpea ratio you like

a few T grapeseed oil

Cook your pasta. Rinse and set aside. In large, deep pan, heat spinach and chickpeas through. Add lemon juice. mix well. Add pasta. Mix together. Drizzle oil over and mix well.

Eat. Its crazy-easy, and I don’t even mind coming home after a very long day of work to make it.

For dessert, I love keeping it simple, and I love eating fruit – I get my sugar fix without feeling guilty.

173051_795500588348_6701647_42627348_685966_o

Slice a banana in to coins. Lay on plate. drizzle agave syrup on top. Sprinkle cinnamon over. drool. eat.

About Kelly

Vegan blogger, foodie, yarn junkie, novice gardener, shoe hater.

Posted on February 24, 2011, in cake, dessert, Garden, pasta. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

Yes, I Really Did Just Say That.

A Place To Say What Everyone Else Is Thinking

The Food Duo

Two vegan nerds with a cruelty-free blog

In Rad Taste

The Raddest Vegan Recipes Around

x means no onions

Healthy and not-so-healthy vegan family food in the Central Valley

The Vegan Word

Vegan Travel - Find & Make Vegan Food, Anywhere in the World

The Kitchen Billets-Doux

short sweet notes from my kitchen to yours.

Honk If You're Vegan

My Plant-Based Journey

Kohlrabi and Quince

Book-loving, cake decorating, feminist vegan nerd living in the most beautiful place on earth

KVARM

'There is no thing as a single-issue struggle because we do not live single-issue lives.' — Audre Lorde

In Vegetables We Trust

Home to over 200 vegan recipes.

Crooked Bread

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Heavenly Vegan Baking

For the best easy to make vegan recipes

The Empowered Pantry

Rediscovering the world of REAL Food

Vegan Monologue

Just food! No nonsense. Portland, OR.

Hot vegan chick.....peas!

Just another vegan blog :)

insufferablevegan

Welcome! Did you eat a tortured animal today? :)

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

