>Vegan MoFo Day Three: Surprise!

>

Today is all about surprise vegan and non-vegan foods.
We all know about the obvious animal products to look for when reading an ingredient list – things like whey, milk, eggs, cheese, butter, and any meats.
So, first up, surprise non-vegan foods:
Gelatin – Derived from the collagen in animal bones and flesh
Worcestershire Sauce – contains anchovies
Many Morningstar Farms products contain milk or dried egg whites (just because its vegetarian doesn’t mean its vegan! be sure to read the labels!)
Casein – usually found in veggie cheeses
Irish Beers – all use isinglass in the brewing process. Isinglass is a gelatin derived from fish bladders. Many other beers contain isinglass, but, to my knowledge, no beer brewed in Ireland is vegan. Check out barnivore.com for information on beers and wines containing isinglass
Wine – not all wine is vegan. Both egg and isinglass is used in some wineries
Margarita Mix – Some margarita mixes contain dried egg whites
Non-Dairy creamer – actually contains dairy. 
Potato Chips – you’ll be surprised that some of these contain lactose, animal fats, or dairy
Ding Dongs – contain beef fat
Planter’s Salted peanuts – contain gelatin
Orange juice – sometimes contains calcium lactate
Carmine – produced from insects. Also known as: Crimson LakeCochinealNatural Red 4C.I. 75470, or E120

Vitamins to be wary of:
B12
Iron
Zinc
Calcium
Omega 3 Fatty Acids – usually from fish
Vitamin D

Okay, the good news – Surprise vegan foods:
Oreos (and Trader Joe-Joe’s)
Ritz Crackers
Cracker Jacks
Fritos
Pillsbury Crescent Rolls
Pillsbury Farms Puff Pastry
Animal Crackers (Barnum’s)

Okay, no more lists. Today, in honor of Vegan MoFo day three (and because I’m in desperate need of a new cookbook), I finally picked up Vegan With a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz. I can’t wait to start cooking.
What’s on the calendar for tomorrow? Pirogies! I know you’re excited.

About Kelly

Vegan blogger, foodie, yarn junkie, novice gardener, shoe hater.

Posted on November 4, 2010, in Accidentally vegan products, Non-vegan foods, Vegan Mofo 2010. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. >ooh ooh, make the fronch toast and the orange scones. a-mazing!

    Like

  2. >To me it's amazing that Ritz crackers are vegan considering how buttery they taste. Can't wait to see those pirogies though. I love pirogies, but I've never had vegan ones.

    Like

  3. >So, I'm new to all this and am wondering… the PETA link you gave there lists some foods that have animal derived ingredients and also goes to another page here: PETA's stance on trace amounts of animal derived ingredients in foods and I'm wondering where you and others draw the line? I mean, how far down on the ingredient list does it have to be to be acceptable?

    Like

  4. >Make the chocolate chip cookies! You'll have to add a touch of soy milk to make the dough really come together, but holy crap they are good.

    Like

  5. >This is great information! I recently did the PCRM 21-day vegan challenge and after, I thought I was missing meat and dairy. But in the last month I realized I wasn't missing anything and have decided that vegan is the way to go!Oh, and congratulations! You are the Uncovering Food November Follower of the Month and have won a small (vegan) thank-you gift pack! Touch base with me so I can figure out how to send it your way!

    Like

  6. >Thanks for the recipe suggestions! I've been eyeing the Ginger Macadamia Coconut Carrot Cake – those are all of my favourite things.Mamarati – I should have left a disclaimer about PETA. I'm not a fan, but I use the site when I'm looking for things I don't wanna make myself. They have also encouraged vegans to accept food at restaurants if it comes and wasn't as ordered (ie – if it has cheese or eggs in it) so that vegans don't seem so high maintenance. Ugh. Anyway, if I see animal ingredients ANYWHERE on my packaging, I'm not going to eat it. I can't speak for all vegans, but I always check ingredients lists, because, I know that companies often re-work recipes. CG – I agree – "giving up" meats and dairy wasn't that hard for me either. And Thank you! I'll be in touch.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

Yes, I Really Did Just Say That.

A Place To Say What Everyone Else Is Thinking

The Food Duo

Two vegan nerds with a cruelty-free blog

In Rad Taste

The Raddest Vegan Recipes Around

x means no onions

Healthy and not-so-healthy vegan family food in the Central Valley

The Vegan Word

Vegan Travel - Find & Make Vegan Food, Anywhere in the World

The Kitchen Billets-Doux

short sweet notes from my kitchen to yours.

Honk If You're Vegan

My Plant-Based Journey

Kohlrabi and Quince

Book-loving, cake decorating, feminist vegan nerd living in the most beautiful place on earth

Al Ma'arrist

'There is no thing as a single-issue struggle because we do not live single-issue lives.' β€” Audre Lorde

In Vegetables We Trust

Home to over 200 vegan recipes.

Crooked Bread

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Heavenly Vegan Baking

For the best easy to make vegan recipes

The Empowered Pantry

Rediscovering the world of REAL Food

Vegan Monologue

Just food! No nonsense. Portland, OR.

Hot vegan chick.....peas!

Just another vegan blog :)

insufferablevegan

Welcome! Did you eat a tortured animal today? :)

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

