>One Pot Potato Curry with Coconut Milk and Chickpeas

>This easy curry isn’t actually my recipe. RP gave it to me years ago, and it has actually been years since I made it. I’ve fallen in love with it all over again. Creamy, a little spicy, warm, comforting, and, most importantly, easy.

Ingredients:
1T veggie oil
1C chopped onions (I use a sweet onion – I hate red onions)
1T curry powder
2T flour
14.5 oz veggie broth (or water – I was out of broth last night, so used water and it came out fine)
1 1/3lb potatoes – chopped (I also peeled them last night)
1 Can garbanzo beans
1/2C coconut milk
Salt and Pepper to taste

Heat oil, add onions. Cook 8-10 minutes until browned. Mix in curry powder, cook and stir for 1 minute. Mix in flour, whisk in broth. Increase heat to high, bring to a boil.

Mix in potatoes and return to a boil. Cover, reduce heat. let cook for 15-20 minutes. Mix in chickpeas (garbanzo beans) and coconut milk. Heat through and season.

Serve with your favourite naan.

About Kelly

Vegan blogger, foodie, yarn junkie, novice gardener, shoe hater.

Posted on July 23, 2010, in chickpeas, curry, garbanzo beans, potato. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. >I love chickpeas and I like coconut milk. I haven't tried the two together. Certainly will now.

    Like

  2. >I hope you enjoy it! The sauce is to-die-for.I'm making it tonight with the addition of eggplant.

    Like

  3. >I found your blog awhile ago through the ww20s board. I have some leftover coconut milk from another dish so I'll try this recipe this week! sounds good, do you ever add other veggies to the soup?

    Like

  4. >Thank you, Lauren!You can add whatever veggies you want. I know I've done bell pepper before. Broccoli may be good in it. When I did it with eggplant, I found it got a little watery, and I suggest avoiding it with this particular curry.Let me know how it turns out!

    Like

  5. >Yay,I finally was able to make the curry. I added some leftover cauliflower, a garlic clove (love garlic) and some cayenne pepper. I had some cilantro and scallions on top, once it was done. It turned out really well and I have tons of leftovers. See you on the boards!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

Yes, I Really Did Just Say That.

A Place To Say What Everyone Else Is Thinking

The Food Duo

Two vegan nerds with a cruelty-free blog

In Rad Taste

The Raddest Vegan Recipes Around

x means no onions

Healthy and not-so-healthy vegan family food in the Central Valley

The Vegan Word

Vegan Travel - Find & Make Vegan Food, Anywhere in the World

The Kitchen Billets-Doux

short sweet notes from my kitchen to yours.

Honk If You're Vegan

My Plant-Based Journey

Kohlrabi and Quince

Book-loving, cake decorating, feminist vegan nerd living in the most beautiful place on earth

KVARM

'There is no thing as a single-issue struggle because we do not live single-issue lives.' — Audre Lorde

In Vegetables We Trust

Home to over 200 vegan recipes.

Crooked Bread

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Heavenly Vegan Baking

For the best easy to make vegan recipes

The Empowered Pantry

Rediscovering the world of REAL Food

Vegan Monologue

Just food! No nonsense. Portland, OR.

Hot vegan chick.....peas!

Just another vegan blog :)

insufferablevegan

Welcome! Did you eat a tortured animal today? :)

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

