>Corn Chowder and a Half Marathon

>I’ve been meaning to post the recipe to this chowder for a week. I honestly haven’t felt like blogging. In fact, I still don’t, but if I don’t post this recipe now, I don’t think I ever will.

Since returning from San Francisco, I’ve been completely broke. Like $0.36 in my bank account kind of broke. So, I’ve been using what I have, and thank god we have a garden this year – quite a few ingredients for this chowder come from the garden.

The I-Didn’t-Measure-a-Thing Corn Chowder



2 potatoes (mine weren’t very big) – chopped
1 can vegetable broth
1-2 green Fresno chilies (mine were from the garden, and you can certainly use jalepenos instead. If you only have access to red Fresno chilies, keep in mind, they’re quite a bit spicier than the red)
2 cloves garlic
Frozen corn (I probably used 1.5 cups)
Fresh cilantro – chopped. a handful

 Throw a bit of EVOO into a pot. Add chilies and garlic. Sauté until fragrant. Add broth, cilantro, and potatoes. let simmer until soft. Using immersion blender, blend until creamy – but keep some potato chunks. You could possibly pull 1/4 – 1/2 of the potatoes out. Add corn. Cook until everything is heated through.

Eat. I enjoyed mine with a few crackers.

On to other exciting things – I went to the physical therapist today about my hip (my SI joint is loose, and my sacrum slips, causing great pain). She gave me some stretches to do, and showed me how to pop everything back into place when it slips again. This means I have decided my first half marathon will be the Surf City USA half marathon. Provided I get a job (registration plus getting my race packet delivered is around $100).

So, I need some awesome running and job vibes from you, my lovely readers! I’m pretty excited about this decision!

About Kelly

Vegan blogger, foodie, yarn junkie, novice gardener, shoe hater.

Posted on July 21, 2010, in chowder, corn, running, soup. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. >Um…. WOOHOO to the half marathon Kelly!!! You can totally do it! I'm so sorry you're so broke right now 😦 Hopefully there is a light at the end of the tunnel. I already forwarded this recipe to Dave and told him I will be making it this weekend! We LOVE corn chowder and this one looks so good!

    Like

  2. >Let me know what you think of it!sorry I was so long in replying – I was computerless last week. It was a drag.And if it comes to having to choose between the half marathon and the Susan G Koman 3-day Walk in San Diego, I'll choose the three day and not be the least bit sad about the decision.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

Yes, I Really Did Just Say That.

A Place To Say What Everyone Else Is Thinking

The Food Duo

Two vegan nerds with a cruelty-free blog

In Rad Taste

The Raddest Vegan Recipes Around

x means no onions

Healthy and not-so-healthy vegan family food in the Central Valley

The Vegan Word

Vegan Travel - Find & Make Vegan Food, Anywhere in the World

The Kitchen Billets-Doux

short sweet notes from my kitchen to yours.

Honk If You're Vegan

My Plant-Based Journey

Kohlrabi and Quince

Book-loving, cake decorating, feminist vegan nerd living in the most beautiful place on earth

KVARM

'There is no thing as a single-issue struggle because we do not live single-issue lives.' — Audre Lorde

In Vegetables We Trust

Home to over 200 vegan recipes.

Crooked Bread

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Heavenly Vegan Baking

For the best easy to make vegan recipes

The Empowered Pantry

Rediscovering the world of REAL Food

Vegan Monologue

Just food! No nonsense. Portland, OR.

Hot vegan chick.....peas!

Just another vegan blog :)

insufferablevegan

Welcome! Did you eat a tortured animal today? :)

Fork and Beans

Where food allergies and creativity come together

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

